Skip to content

Edith Cowan University

Bachelor of Laws / Bachelor of Commerce (double degree)

Western Australia, Australia

  • Level

    Bachelors Pass

  • Duration

    5 years full-time or equivalent part-time

  • Campus

    City (WA)

  • Intl. Tuition

    A$47,700 (year not stated on the university's site)

  • Intake

    February 2027

See how your grades stack up for this course

With an Ascenda account you get your fit and admit odds for every programme, a shortlist you can compare, and your deadlines and applications in one place.

Course Overview

Bachelor of Laws / Bachelor of Commerce (double degree) at Edith Cowan University in Western Australia, Australia is a bachelors pass programme designed to give you both rigorous academic grounding and exposure to current practice in the field.

  • Study with academics who are active researchers and industry practitioners, with regular contact through seminars, tutorials, and project work.
  • Develop core knowledge in your first year before specialising through optional modules in later years tailored to your interests and career goals.
  • Build practical, transferable skills — analysis, communication, teamwork, and project delivery — that employers across sectors actively look for.
  • Access dedicated employability support including internships, placements, alumni mentoring, and a careers service that connects students to graduate roles.
  • Join a global student community with extracurricular societies, sports, volunteering, and study-abroad opportunities to round out your university experience.

The University at a Glance

Student Population

30,822

Staff Ratio

27.9:1

International

31.0%

Career Prospects

Employment Rate

73.0%

of graduates employed

Costs & Living

Intl. Tuition

A$47,700

per year, year not stated on the university's site Official fee page

Course Curriculum

Year 1

  • Foundations of Bachelor of Laws / Bachelor of Commerce (double degree)
  • Academic and Research Skills
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Introduction to Theory and Practice
  • Optional language or breadth module.

Year 2

  • Intermediate Bachelor of Laws / Bachelor of Commerce (double degree) topics
  • Applied Methods and Tools
  • Group Project
  • Two optional pathway modules
  • Career and Industry Insights.

Year 3

  • Advanced Bachelor of Laws / Bachelor of Commerce (double degree)
  • Independent Dissertation or Capstone Project
  • Two specialist optional modules aligned with your interests
  • Employability and Professional Development.

Entry Requirements

Subjects

  • All applicants University general admission requirements apply.
  • Some courses have special admission requirements which are published against the course entries on the University Future Students website.
  • Applications for this course are not accepted through ECU's Experience Based Entry Scheme.
  • Applicants with work and life experience #{weblink.external("https://www.ecu.edu.au/future-students/course-entry/stat-explained","STAT")} is accepted for entry.
  • Elements considered: Written English and either Verbal or Quantitative.

Source: CourseSeeker (Australian Government), retrieved September 2026. Always confirm the current requirements with the university.

Assessment Methods

Assessment is varied across the programme and may include: Written examinations across foundational modules; Coursework essays and analytical reports; Group and individual projects with presentations; Practical lab, studio, or fieldwork assessments where relevant; A final-year dissertation or capstone project that lets you specialise in a topic of your choice.

Campus & City Life

Student Population

30,822

Total students

Staff Ratio

28:1

Students per staff

International Students

31%

Of student body

University Stats

Total Students30,822
Student-to-Staff Ratio28:1
International Students31%

Career & Outcomes

Graduate Employment

73%

Employed after graduation

Costs & Living Expenses

Intl. Tuition

A$47,700

per year, year not stated on the university's site Official fee page

Estimated Annual Costs

Tuition (International)A$47,700per year, year not stated on the university's site Official fee page